Answering a Customer’s Question – Day 4 of 30 days of blog post ideas

Welcome to day 4 of my 30 days of blog post ideas series. Today we focus on your customer…

Every customer is filled with questions about your company, product or service. It’s an unknown to them. With the internet, customers have the tools to do amazing amounts of research themselves before making a decision. Why not put 2 and 2 together, and make things easier for your potential customers by answering their questions, and making it easy for them to find that information.

It’s an idea that works well for all types of business. This New York Time article is about a small local swimming pool company in Virginia that started answering customers questions as a marketing strategy and saw sales climb.

The great thing about this idea is that often the customer will do the really hard work for you by asking the question. Think about what questions your customer’s ask again and again and you’ve got the idea. Now write up an answer in a blog post. You can also do some brainstorming to think about potential questions that customers are not asking but want to. It may be because they are embarrassed or haven’t thought about it enough. By answering a question they never knew they had it shows that you think like them.

  • Make sure you write question and answer using the same language your customers use. That will help the article rank well in Google based on customer search terms.
  • Be completely honest! Make sure you earn the customer’s trust by being completely open and honest, even if it’s uncomfortable for you. The customer will know if you’re waffling or avoiding something. Tackle it head on. It will set you apart from your competition.
  • Don’t include any sales fluff. Make it very specific, very detailed and very useful to the customer. This is all about helping them.
This entry was posted in blog content, blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Answering a Customer’s Question – Day 4 of 30 days of blog post ideas

  1. joedalio says:

    Thanks for the great tips. From past experience I can say they would make any customer happy : )

  2. You’re making daily blogging look so straight forward. But dammit – I still don’t think I can! Actually, I don’t really need to for my audience. Weekly or twice weekly is good.
    Back to it!

    • I wish! Before April and the start of this series I was averaging 3 per week. This series I’m doing now is great way to fill the days. I sat down came up with thirty ideas and just keep using the same blog post format and changing the info. Certainly takes a lot of the hard work of thinking up new ideas for every post away. The first weekend is coming up so i’ll have to work a little harder tomorrow to line the posts up for the weekend.
      The other great thing I’ve found is that I’m only posting this series so I’m storing up some great ideas for posts for after this series. It’s giving me a chance to fill the well. It’s early days but I would definitely recommend doing a series like this.

      • I think there is a lot to be said for pre-scheduling. Not only does it get you out of trouble, but it is also flexible enough to be changed and rearranged should the writing bug attack with better ideas for sooner posting.

      • Oh yeah!!! I’m with you there… Now if only I could stick to doing that 🙂

        About posting daily: I was also going to say that I agree with you: overload (for you and your readers) can ruin things. My tag line of ‘blog more often’ should probably read ‘blog more consistently’ because that’s what I’m thinking. Better to blog once a week for a year than daily for two weeks and never again.

      • True, yes, I hear you. However, I think your title is relevant as is. You see, the people who need to read this are the people who NEED to blog more often. Consistency will grow from that 🙂

      • Do you find small businesses are more willing to turn blogging over to copywriters like yourself, or try and do it themselves? I would think they could achieve better consistency by concentrating on running their business and turning blogging over to the experts?

      • They’re learning, slowly. Some are quite good at it, they have their own voice that translates well. There is still the perception that a copywriter is a luxury – I argue that we are value-added.

      • Totally. Not only for your writing skills but saving time that business owners can better use elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

